Photo Gallery

Please enjoy these photos from our Instagram, shared in chronological order.

An official waves a flag to start a race at the Woody Creek Raceway, June 1968.
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society, Aspen Illustrated News Collection)

On Mondays we’re sharing memories from the 1960s with images from the Aspen Illustrated News and Aspen Flyer collections. AHS archivists recently completed processing the two photo-journalistic collections, which feature images taken by newspaper staff and freelance photographers. Explore these and many more historical images from the AHS Collection online at archiveaspen.org.
...

A woman standing in the doorway of a log building that has a sign reading "Laundry" above the door, circa 1900. Red Mountain is in the background. #tbt
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society Collection)
...

A new bridge being installed over Castle Creek, 1961.
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society, Aspen Flyer Collection)

On Mondays we’re sharing memories from the 1960s with images from the Aspen Illustrated News and Aspen Flyer collections. AHS archivists recently completed processing the two photo-journalistic collections, which feature images taken by newspaper staff and freelance photographers. Explore these and many more historical images from the AHS Collection online at archiveaspen.org.
...

Cemetery Lane and part of the Marolt Ranch from Red Butte, circa 1955. #tbt
(Photographer: Frank Willoughby /
Photo: Aspen Historical Society Collection)
...

Bill Punkoney roping a calf during branding at the Howard Kent ranch at Snowmass, June 1961.
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society, Aspen Flyer Collection)

On Mondays we’re sharing memories from the 1960s with images from the Aspen Illustrated News and Aspen Flyer collections. AHS archivists recently completed processing the two photo-journalistic collections, which feature images taken by newspaper staff and freelance photographers. Explore these and many more historical images from the AHS Collection online at archiveaspen.org.
...

The Hoedown is tonight at the Holden/Marolt Museum!
As a reminder, there is NO PARKING on-site (except for ADA guests). Please walk, bike, bus or carpool, limited parking is available at Bugsy Barnard Park across HWY 82 or in the West End across the pedestrian bridge at 7th street. There are multiple @ride_rfta and @ridewecycle stops nearby.
We look forward to celebrating with you!
...

The Denver and Rio Grande railroad tracks along the Roaring Fork River at Hanging Rock, 1968. The tracks have long since been removed, and this is now the Rio Grande Trail. #tbt
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society, Shankweiler Collection)
...

Memorial Day services at Red Butte Cemetery being conducted by Aspen's Peter F. Galligan American Legion Post, 1962.
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society, Aspen Flyer Collection)

On Mondays we’re sharing memories from the 1960s with images from the Aspen Illustrated News and Aspen Flyer collections. AHS archivists recently completed processing the two photo-journalistic collections, which feature images taken by newspaper staff and freelance photographers. Explore these and many more historical images from the AHS Collection online at archiveaspen.org.
...

Buildings along E. Cooper Avenue, circa 1930. The Independence Building is the large one in the background. #tbt
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society)
...

Have you picked up your FREE sweet pea seeds yet?

Each spring, AHS gives out sweet peas seeds, Aspen's official flower, in partnership with @aspentimes and sponsors @bmayarch and @aspen_chamber.

Pick up your sweet pea seeds (the town's official flower) while supplies last:

AHS Archives Building
620 W. Bleeker St.
Look for a basket on the patio behind the Museum

ACRA
590 N. Mill St.
At the front desk, open M-F, 9am - 4:30pm

Bryan May Architecture + Interiors
501 Rio Grande Place, Suite 109
Look for a basket outside the door

Ps. The Wheeler/Stallard Museum (with sweet peas climbing the mailbox) opens for the summer season on May 31st!
...

The new Snowmass Ski Area and base area under construction, 1967. The ski area, with several runs cut off of Sam's Knob, can be seen in the background, and the Fanny Hill/ Snowmass Mall area is in the foreground. This image was taken by David Hiser for the Aspen Illustrated News.
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society, Hiser Collection)

On Mondays we’re sharing memories from the 1960s with images from the Aspen Illustrated News and Aspen Flyer collections. AHS archivists recently completed processing the two photo-journalistic collections, which feature images taken by newspaper staff and freelance photographers. Explore these and many more historical images from the AHS Collection online at archiveaspen.org.
...

The Mollie Gibson Mine Complex near the base of Smuggler Mountain, circa 1915. #tbt
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society)
...

Sue Ann Carpenter skateboarding down a sidewalk on Galena Street by the Bidwell Building (Mountain Plaza Building), 1966. This photo was taken by Cherie Hiser for the Aspen Illustrated News.
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society, Aspen Illustrated News Collection)

On Mondays we’re sharing memories from the 1960s with images from the Aspen Illustrated News and Aspen Flyer collections. AHS archivists recently completed processing the two photo-journalistic collections, which feature images taken by newspaper staff and freelance photographers. Explore these and many more historical images from the AHS Collection online at archiveaspen.org.
...

The residence at 135 E. Cooper Avenue, on the corner with Aspen Street, 1964. #tbt
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society)
...

Excavation work for the new Bank of Aspen building (119 S. Mill Street), May 1962. The bank moved into this new location that fall; the new building was designed by Fritz Benedict.
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society, Aspen Flyer Collection)

On Mondays we’re sharing memories from the 1960s with images from the Aspen Illustrated News and Aspen Flyer collections. AHS archivists recently completed processing the two photo-journalistic collections, which feature images taken by newspaper staff and freelance photographers. Explore these and many more historical images from the AHS Collection online at archiveaspen.org.
...

The Cowenhoven Building as seen from Galena Street, circa 1925. #tbt
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society)
...

A sign on the door of the Hotel Jerome that reads "Closed for the off season," May 1966. Aspen Mountain is reflected in the glass.
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society, Aspen Illustrated News Collection)

On Mondays we’re sharing memories from the 1960s with images from the Aspen Illustrated News and Aspen Flyer collections. AHS archivists recently completed processing the two photo-journalistic collections, which feature images taken by newspaper staff and freelance photographers. Explore these and many more historical images from the AHS Collection online at archiveaspen.org.
...

Two men and a wagon outside the barn on the Glendale Stock Farm on Owl Creek Road, circa 1915. #tbt
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society Collection)
...

Skiers walking with their skis down Little Nell, 1966. It is spring, and there is very little snow on the ski run. Other skiers are riding down the chairlift. This image was taken by David Hiser for the Aspen Illustrated News.
(Photo: Aspen Historical Society, Hiser Collection)

On Mondays we’re sharing memories from the 1960s with images from the Aspen Illustrated News and Aspen Flyer collections. AHS archivists recently completed processing the two photo-journalistic collections, which feature images taken by newspaper staff and freelance photographers. Explore these and many more historical images from the AHS Collection online at archiveaspen.org.
...

The below albums feature photos from past programs. View more photo album highlights on our Flickr.